August 2017

Our 2017 Better Practice Award Winners!

This year’s Better Practice Award winners were announced at the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency’s Better Practice Conference in Sydney on Thursday 17 August 2017. 

The 37 Commendation Award winners were announced by Quality Agency CEO Nick Ryan, at a special Better Practice Awards reception event following the Day 1 Better Practice Conference proceedings. 

In addition to the announcement of our Commendation Awards, the event included the announcement of the inaugural winners of the Quality Agency’s National Innovation and Excellence in Aged Care Awards by the Minister for Aged Care Ken Wyatt and Chairperson of the Quality Agency Advisory Council Andrea Coote. 

These Awards are designed to celebrate those providers who are industry leaders in aged care and who are worthy of both national and international recognition in aged care practice. This is the first time these Awards have been offered and up to five of these Awards will be offered nationally each year. 

In 2017, 119 nominations were considered for the Awards. An expert independent panel assessed each nomination against the selection criteria that included a focus on quality of care and quality of life outcomes for consumers. 

The winning programs show what is possible and highlight better practice and innovation across residential aged care and home care services. 

Quality Agency CEO Nick Ryan congratulated all winners of this year’s Better Practice Awards:

“The Better Practice Awards are an ideal opportunity to highlight the positive programs in action for older Australians, and to reward staff, management, clients and organisations alike for the hard work they do," said Mr Ryan. 

“All nominations are assessed by an independent panel against nomination selection criteria including a focus on quality of care and quality of life outcomes for consumers. 

“This is our way of recognising and showcasing aged care services that have consumer focus at their core. The stand-out providers spend time finding out what their consumers want, and then find a way to make it happen. 

“The planning, the research and most importantly, the results of the programs make them stand out. And the fact that the consumers are driving the benefits rather than ‘receiving’ them," said Mr Ryan.

 Nominations cover initiatives across the following descriptors:

• Leadership and culture

• Workforce development

• Health and wellbeing

• Dementia care

• Clinical care/medication management

• Safety

• Enablement and/or transition care

• Consumer engagement and/or co-design

• Social participation and lifestyle

• Technology and/or social media

• Diversity

• Living environment and/or sustainability

Mr Ryan said: “It was particularly pleasing to see strong representation in our Award winners from both residential and home care, including our first winner from the Northern Territory, from a remote/ very remote home care provider.”

Many of the programs have aspects that could be adopted by other aged care providers.

See this issue of the Quality Standard for Award winners: 

For further details, see our website Better Practice Awards page

Photo caption above: 2017 Better Practice Award presentation. Pictured from left, Nick Ryan, Quality Agency CEO; Sharyn Speakman Nurse Practitioner, Bushland Health Group; Bernadette Burke, Director of Care, Bushland Health Group; Errol Curran, CFO, Bushland Health Group, Sue McKechnie, Executive Manager Community Services, Resthaven; Lynn Openshaw, Manager, Service Development, Resthaven; Richard Hearn, Resthaven CEO; Margaret Mills, Quality and Compliance Manager, Bushland Health Group; Andrea Coote, Chair, Quality Agency Advisory Council.